Hosting Question

Hi,

Currently I am just starting out with Powershell Universal using the Visual Studio Code Extension on a Win 2016 Server… everything is fine and I’ve got a basic dashboard up and running. My question is around “Hosting”. In my case, do I just install the MSI on the server and the service will start automatically?

That’s the way I read it here on the hosting doc - https://docs.ironmansoftware.com/config/hosting

It runs under the system account by default, so let’s say I am creating an AD User creation form with Powershell Universal and I want my 1st line helpdesk team to use this to create the accounts. Do I need to update the account that service runs under to one that has the right level of access in Active Directory?

I’ve been using Sapien Powershell Studio in the past to achieve this and I’ve put together little GUI’s in there that run under the context of the user who is running the form. So when jobs are running, they run under the context of the user that has the right level of access in AD anyway.

How do we achieve that with Powershell Universal?

Hope that makes sense?

TIA

I have gone down the IIS route and followed all the steps but I’m receiving the following error when starting the site:

HTTP Error 502.5 - ANCM Out-Of-Process Startup Failure

Event logs:
Application ‘/LM/W3SVC/2/ROOT’ with physical root ‘C:\Program Files (x86)\Universal’ failed to start process with commandline ‘C:\Program Files (x86)\Universal\Universal.Server.exe C:\Program Files (x86)\Universal\Universal.Server.dll’ with multiple retries. Failed to bind to port ‘17340’. First 30KB characters of captured stdout and stderr logs from multiple retries:

Faulting application name: Universal.Server.exe, version: 1.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x5dcec899
Faulting module name: KERNELBASE.dll, version: 10.0.14393.2848, time stamp: 0x5c7f626e
Exception code: 0xe0434352
Fault offset: 0x0000000000034078
Faulting process id: 0x1854