Trial user: Unable to fully set up Azure Web App (docker)

Product: PowerShell Universal
Version: 4.2.9

I’m new to PowerShell Universal and am in the 14-day trial period. I’m trying to get it up and running in an Azure web app. I’m sure I’m missing something obvious, but I am following the Azure guide in the docs. I’m using the tagged container from Docker Hub: ironmansoftware/universal:4.2.9-ubuntu-20.04

When I let it run at first, it appears to work. However, I want to enable SQL and have set up an Azure SQL db which I’m authenticating against with a System Managed Identity. Here is my connection string: Server=<insert host>.database.windows.net;Database=<insert db name>;Encrypt=True;Connection Timeout=10;Authentication=Active Directory Managed Identity;

Again, this appears to work properly and I see the tables being created, I can log in, etc.

What I’m not understanding is how to persist data. When I add the WEBSITES_ENABLE_APP_SERVICE_STORAGE env to my web app configuration, the app ceases to run. I saw there was an option to use Azure Files but it is not recommended if you’re using git which I intend to.

To sum up, I think I’m close, but I can’t seem to nail the data persistence. Do I even need that if SQL is involved? Just want to make sure this setup is “production-ready” so I can finish testing it during our trial.

This is the env variables that I’ve got set in the app configuration:

[
  {
    "name": "ASPNETCORE_FORWARDEDHEADERS_ENABLED",
    "value": "true",
    "slotSetting": false
  },
  {
    "name": "Data__ConnectionString",
    "value": "Server=<insert host>.database.windows.net;Database=<insert db name>;Encrypt=True;Connection Timeout=10;Authentication=Active Directory Managed Identity;",
  },
  {
    "name": "DOCKER_REGISTRY_SERVER_URL",
    "value": "https://index.docker.io/v1",
  },
  {
    "name": "NodeName",
    "value": "<insert node name>",
  },
  {
    "name": "Plugins__0",
    "value": "SQL",
  },
  {
    "name": "TZ",