Not sure how to start developing in PSU

Hi guys, I’m a sysadmin, not a developer, so please bare with me here.
With now legacy v2, I used VSCode and “PowerShell UDStudio” extension. I would install and import “UniversalDashboard” module from repo, VSCode would recognize dasboard.ps1 file, import the module and off I go coding… you know the drill.

However, v3 has moved away from these practices and I am not quite sure where to even begin now. Documentation only shows setup steps and debugging section is… well… it makes little to no sense to me at this point lol

At the very least, I would like to be able to somehow attach powershell to my PSU instance and read errors or verbose output. Unlike with dashboards, there appears to be no visual feedback for PSU?

Right now I have local dev (msi) and prod environment (zip+IIS) set up with Azure DevOps pipelines synchronizing repo folder, basic install of PSU is running nicely so far.
First and foremost, I am trying to set up authentication and authorization rules. However I noticed that they are now applied on PSU level and not dashboard level.

So if I want to write scripts for PSU, where do I see script output and errors? Dashboards gets Info/Log/Console tabs, but how do I develop for PSU? Text logs?

One more question - how do I import PSU and Dashboard cmdlets into VSCode? If it’s a manual process now, do I just create new .ps1 file and run it every time I restart VSCode?

Thank you

1 Like

I’ll improve that debugging section. It should have a step-by-step overview of how to debug the various features of PSU.

The dashboard does a good job of logging. If you add the -Debug switch to New-PSUDashboard in dashboards.ps1 of your repo folder you’ll actually get more information out. You can even use Write-Debug to have it show up in the log in the browser.