Using user's credentials to run script

Product: PowerShell Universal
Version: 2.3.0

My dashboard has authentication enabled and prompts the user for their credentials as soon as they hit the dashboard URL (the web browser presents them with the UAC input box). Where can I pull their credentials from? I’m trying to use $Credential.Username and $Credential.Password in the authentication.ps1 file but those are both null.

The goal would be to export the username/password (encrypted) into a CSV file, then import them into a variable that can be used to run a script with those credentials.

Alternatively, I have not be able to export them to Windows Credential Manager and import them into a secret variable. The missing link being not knowing what variable actually stores their username and password once they input it.

Did you ever find an answer to this? I’m just getting started here and using the active directory module as a starting place, I’m curious if I should be utilizing a service account to query AD or somehow pull the active user’s credentials to run the script.

I’m guessing for the sake of security, the user’s credential’s wouldn’t persist past login, and I don’t know whether it would be bad practice or not to store that for later use.

Hi @jgeron-suhsd, here are a few things (and links to the documentation) that helped me get up and running in my dashboard configuration. I’m currently running version 2.5.4.

• Running PowerShell Universal as a service with a service account (after the install, I manually changed the “Log On As” account from local system to my service account).

• Verify Windows authentication is set to “false” in the app settings.json file
    Security - PowerShell Universal