Invoke-RestMethod : Unable to connect to the remote server

Hello. I’m not only new to the community, I’m pretty much new to scripting which includes powershell and not to mention PSUD and i’m also not a coder. But I have managed to piece together a few scripts that have suited my purposes for monitoring some software I need to know that is or isn’t running. So here’s the trouble:

I’m running a PSUD desktop API on a remote PC that is not in my local network. I don’t need to worry about port forwarding because this PC has a public IP. The API i’m running is just a simple test, "get-process firefox. That’s it.

When I run the API in the PS console on the remote pc using:

“Invoke-RestMethod http://localhost:5000/get -Method GET”

it works. But, when I attempt to invoke the API from my laptop using the following:

“Invoke-RestMethod http://xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:5000/get -Method GET”

I get:

“Invoke-RestMethod : Unable to connect to the remote server”

I tried everything I could find in the forums and online including; using “Invoke-WebRequest”, running the script with a variable, using -Uri, using https, putting quotes around ‘GET’ and several other things I can’t remember atm.

It’s clear that i’m very inexperienced in this world but I’m willing to learn in order to get the results that I’m after. I have successfully created a few PSU dashboards so far that i’m proud of but I seem to be out of my depth on this one. Any help would be appreciated.

Things you should probably know… Although I have a licensed version of PSUD desktop on my laptop, The remote PC with the simple API i’m trying to call is unlicensed (but in this case I don’t believe it matters). I am also running Powershell version 5.1 on the endpoint as well as my laptop.

Also, I would like to eventually determine whether a particular windows process is running or stopped in at least 5 different machines, take that info and update a single dashboard. I have managed to do this locally with 1 PC. Thanks