Dashboard with info from remote servers

Hi!

I am kind of new to this so, sorry if the question is too basic. I have little project where i would like to show on a dashboard the information about windows updates pending to be installed on a series of Servers.

So far I am able to retrieve the a list of the pending updates of any server using this code:

$session = New-PSSession -ComputerName RemoteServer
Invoke-Command -Session $session -ScriptBlock { $updlist = Get-WUList | Select-Object -Property Title -ExcludeProperty RunspaceId }
$Local = Invoke-Command -Session $session -ScriptBlock { $updlist }
$Local

So my question is, how can i show this information on the Dashboard ?

thanks

Hi @franpola!
Welcome to the UD forums!
No question is too basic, thats what a forum is for man! :slight_smile:

Regarding your question:
This code can run wherever you want inside an endpoint. To present, there are a few options: including UDTable and UDGrid.
I’d go with the UDGrid.

Check out
https://docs.universaldashboard.io/components/grids
and feel free to shout if you need any guidance with it :slight_smile:

Quick question: why do you do a double?

$local = Invoke-Command -Session $session -ScriptBlock { Get-WUList | Select-Object -Property Title -ExcludeProperty RunspaceId }

This should work i believe.

Hi @BoSen29!

Thanks for the welcome.
I was able to display the results using the UDGrid command which is great.

Now the script loos like this, however when i run the script on ISE it takes about 2 minutes to complete, i dont know why?

#creates ps session with remote servers
$session = New-PSSession -ComputerName WINMSSQL

#gets the list of available updates from remote server into a variable
Invoke-Command -Session $session -ScriptBlock { $updlist = Get-WUList | Select-Object -Property Title -ExcludeProperty RunspaceId }

#passes the results of the previous remote machine variable into a local variable
$Local = Invoke-Command -Session $session -ScriptBlock { $updlist }