Assign PSU roles during the windows authentication (SSO)

Hello,

I’m completely new in Powershell Universal and the tool is really great ! However, i’m facing some difficulties when it comes to authentication.

In fact, my goal is to assign some PSU roles (such as Administrator or User) based on the AD group the user is in.
The difficulty is, i can’t figure out how to assign roles during the Windows SSO authentication without using ADFS (and so claims that comes with it, giving information about the connected, especially the groups he’s in) in the authentication.ps1. I’ve read many times the documentation, mainly this one About | PowerShell Universal and the “Example: Policy based on Active Directory Group Membership”.
The code ensures that the user is in the group i want, but i’m still finding a solution to attribute this user a psu role in the “if” statement.

Also, just for a better understanting of the code, why’s the function returning a boolean instead of Security.AuthenticationResult type as the documentation says that SET-PSUAuthenticationMethod should return this type ? (maybe this code was supposed to be a function and not inside the set-PSUAuthenticationMethod).

The code in question :

param(
$User
)

$UserName = ($User.Identity.Name)
$UserName = $UserName.Substring($UserName.IndexOf('\')+1,($UserName.Length -($UserName.IndexOf('\')+1)))

$IsMember = $false;

# Perform LDAP Group Member Lookup
$Searcher = New-Object DirectoryServices.DirectorySearcher
$Searcher.SearchRoot = 'LDAP://CN=Users,DC=berg,DC=com' # INSERT ROOT LDAP HERE
$Searcher.Filter = "(&(objectCategory=person)(memberOf=CN=PowerShell Universal Admins,OU=Information Technology,DC=berg,DC=com))" #GROUP INSERT DN TO CHECK HERE
$Users = $Searcher.FindAll()
$Users | ForEach-Object{
    If($_.Properties.samaccountname -eq $UserName)
    {
        $IsMember = $true;
        "$UserName is a member of admin group!" | Out-File "C:\test\adgroup.txt"
    }
    else {