Advice sought: am I dynamically updating UDElements the smartest way?

Hi - I’m creating a Dashboard to monitor the status of a scientific instrument (a telescope array) with many components. I’ve got a prototype Dashboard put together which I’m testing now, but when looking at my code I’m scratching my head wondering if I’m doing things in an optimal way. I’m a Universal Dashboard newbie (and I’m a scientist not a developer so am in a bit over my head) and if I’m doing something in a really silly way I’d like to fix it now before I go much further. Could I lean upon the wisdom of this group for your opinion?

A screenshot of my dashboard (such as it is) is shown here:

The part of my code that I’m rather dubious about is being used to make (and update, once a second) the colored boxes shown at the top, in the ‘Status’ card. The colors represent the state of various components of the instrument (white=inactive, green=active, red=error). Each of these boxes is a UDElement, and the colors are set by polling a cached data structure once every second. The cached data structure is itself constructed by polling a relational database (also once a second) but that’s done independently using a scheduled endpoint that is defined at the start of my script. (This approach was chosen because several other cards use the information from the database too, so I wanted to minimize the number of times we poll it).

The specific bit of my project that has me worried is this snippet, where I generate the card with the status lights and dynamically alter the colors according to the device states:

New-UDCard -Id StatusPanelCard -Title "Status" -Content {

New-UDElement -Tag 'div' -AutoRefresh -RefreshInterval 1 -Endpoint {

New-UDLayout -Columns 4 -Content {
            ForEach ($device in ($Cache:BackgroundColor).keys) {
                New-UDElement -Tag "p" -Attributes @{ 
                    style = @{"background-color" = ($Cache:BackgroundColor)[$device];