Client Certificate Authentication?

Product: PowerShell Universal
Version: 2.3.0

How does one use the Client Certificate Authentication after enabling it?

That’s a miss on my part. I’ll get this added today.

Can you point me in the direction of some Cmdlets?

Would really appreciate any information you could provide on this feature.

It looks like something is wrong with this functionality and it may require a 2.3.2 release to resolve it. I’ll update this thread when the functionality is available and documented.

2 Likes

Any updates on this? Even some information on how the feature will work or be configured would be useful.

I’m currently designing, and testing, a workflow and API for certificate issuance and management and want to make sure it will be compatible with the PSU Client Authentication design.

Check out the doc here: Client Certificate - PowerShell Universal

Hi guys! I’m just starting to learn about client certificate authentication as I suspect it’s something I need to know about. :slight_smile:

In the documentation, the authenticating user has a bunch of certificates as claims, but our users don’t have any certificates as claims. Just the standard claims and the Azure AD groups they’re a member of, since we enabled that.

Do certs only show as claims if you have ClientCertificate set to true in the settings? Or do they only show as claims if you’ve uploaded a certificate to the Azure App Registration? Or am I missing something else?

Cheers,
Matt

They will only have claims if ClientCertificate is set to true and the require cert setting is set. When user connects through a browser, it will prompt for a cert to provide the server. If you are using something like Invoke-WebRequest you can provide a certificate as a parameter to the web request.