Best place to start to learn about learning UD and displaying data from SQL Database

Hi, I have been using PowerShell for the last three years mainly to automate reporting tasks. Basically I have scheduled PS scripts to update SQL data, extract the data into a CSV file or excel file depending on the report, distributing the reports via email to users and then doing the same if there are any further changes for the day. I came across UD a few days ago and thought of creating a Report Dashboard. This dashboard should display all the available reports (based on sql table), last updated date time (based on another table), allow the user to view the report in the dashboard ( do not prefer grid output) and download the report in certain formats. For example to start with csv, however I could add more like xls, pdf, etc.

My issue is is that I cannot find any documentation or examples that explain how to extract the data from a table using a query and display it. I tried to use a variable (system.data.dataset) with a simple grid following another example without any success.

Please point me in the right direction.

Thanks.

Tesh

https://docs.universaldashboard.io/

Should have most of the documentation you need, otherwise scouring this forum will often provide answers to the basics.

For displaying sql data I use Invoke-Sqlcmd2 (due to not needing any additional dependancies).
Heres an example:

New-UDGrid -Title "Test Grid" -DefaultSortColumn "columnname" -PageSize 20 -Headers @("freindlyname1","freindlyname2","freindlyname3") -Properties @("field1","field2","field3") -Endpoint {   
        Invoke-SqlCmd2 -ServerInstance "servername" -Database "dbname" -Query "SELECT * FROM Table" | % {
            [PSCustomObject]@{
                field1 = $_.field1
                field2 = $_.field2
                field3 = $_.field3
            }
        } | Out-UDGridData
    }

You’ll likley need to convert your object to a pscustomobject depending how you pull it through.